What is standard size of WEB PAGE?

Discussion in 'HTML & Web Design' started by SimpsonTisdale, Dec 8, 2011.

1. SimpsonTisdale

SimpsonTisdale Thread Starter Active Member

I am actually new in the designing field and doing some courses so i have been assigned a project to test the skills.

2. annabelle07

annabelle07 Active Member

I know how much content typically goes on a web page - approx 400 words :) Hope that helps in a vague way...

3. Delois

Delois Senior Member

I do not think there is any certain criteria in defining the size of the web page as it depends on the client requirement as well and the space you have bought from your hosting provider. A page with full of high quality images can have a large file size compare to one with compressed images. It is good practice to reduce the size as possible as it will get loaded quickly.

Last edited: Sep 13, 2012
  4. suzaneramin

suzaneramin Active Member

What i used to follow in is 1024*768. Web Page Design whether it's a personal page or a business page, you definitely want to convey your information in a clear and in easy to get to manner that provides your visitors with a pleasant experience. So apart from the size of page you also need to be very careful for other factors too.
    All the Best for your Project!

5. VinGaeta

VinGaeta New Member

hey Simpson,

I tend to stick to a 960 grid when designing for a website. It'll fit on most of the smaller screens and still looks great on bigger resolutions. I've been reading that a 978 grid might be a better though, but that's completely up to the designer. For more information check out this link, http://webdesignerwall.com/trends/960-grid-system-is-getting-old. Hope that was helpful!

Vin

6. h4v0c6

h4v0c6 Junior Member

I agree with VinGaeta. The 960 grid is very flexible when designing your site. It scales very well for all media. However, I don't have any experience with the 978 grid.

7. okayo0

okayo0 Active Member